Girl Scout Gold Award – Go for Gold!

Girl Scout Gold Award – Go for Gold!

Hi, my name is Emily and I’m a Gold Award Girl Scout. What’s that, you ask? Well, a Gold Award Girl Scout is a Girl Scout in grades 10 through 12 who has earned the highest award in Girl Scouts: the Gold Award. Earning this national award requires identifying an issue and taking action to solve it in a big and lasting way. Like my friend Vivianna’s Gold Award project, where she fought to save the endangered Brodiaea flower by holding classes, creating a website, and even leading an invasive species removal. And though the award has gone by many names – Golden Eagle of Merit, Golden Eaglet, First Class, Curved Bar, and finally, the Gold Award – it has always had high standards to help elevate leadership and spark change. Very much like other youth honors you know… Eagles, we are the best! Eagles, we are the B-E-S-T Eagles, we are the best! With the Gold Award, Girl Scouts celebrates girls who have provided excellent leadership and advocacy. I’m sharing what the Gold Award means so that one day, a subtle nod won’t be necessary. And that is something to cheer about.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.