Robin Hood Pub Breakfast Review from Bangkok

Robin Hood Pub Breakfast Review from Bangkok

Hello and welcome to this review of the breakfast
served at the Robin Hood Pub in Bangkok. You will find the Robin Hood Pub immediately upon exiting the Phrom Phong BTS station at exit number 5. I visited this pub on the 28th of July 2016.
I arrived at 9 am. And this is what I came for – the so-called “early bird breakfast” costing 99 baht. This review will focus on the core parts of
an English cooked breakfast … Toast, eggs, bacon and sausage. I avoid baked beans as I don’t like baked beans. At 9 am I sat down at a table inside the pub. I was their only customer. Normally, I don’t comment much on the quality
of service at the restaurants I visit. The reason for that is that the majority of service staff are polite and well-meaning. It is extremely rare to find rude and obnoxious service in Thailand
but I found it at the Robin Hood Pub. Firstly, the staff seemed annoyed that I had
arrived at 9 am – I had to go and look for them just
to make my order. After taking a short video of their bar I was snappily
told filming wasn’t allowed. OK, fair enough – I thought – but I was determined to at least film
the breakfast I had ordered. So I chose to move my breakfast to a table outside.
For the rest of the filming I had my camera pointed at my plate. But even this seemed to offend the waitress
so she stood next to my table outside brooding with her arms crossed
– frantically calling her boss … on the phone – presumably to get him to evict me from their premises. This whole experience of Robin Hood service
felt distinctly un-Thai. The staff were rude, aggressive
and confrontational. It seemed very much at odds with the mai pen rai attitude
most Thais take in such matters. Now to the review of the breakfast. First of all the toast was average. It was
thin and small but it was also crispy and it was not sweet. I give it 3 out
of 5. The egg was ok – a standard fried egg but its kinda hard
to mess up such a simple thing. I give it 3 out of 5. I wasn’t given a chance to enjoy it due to the presence of the menacing waitress. The bacon was British style back bacon.
It was very chewy and salty so not the best quality. I give it 3 out of 5. Finally, the sausage which I thought was poor. I didn’t like the taste of it and if you look
at the … consistency of it you can cearly see there is a low meat content. This is bottom of the range … budget sausages. The only kind of sausage that ranks lower than this kind of sausage is the
Thai … kind of hotdogs you get served at hotel breakfasts. I give this sausage 2 out of 5. I didn’t eat the hash browns and tomatoes
and I also left most of the sausage behind. I had had enough of being treated like a
persona non grata so I decided to leave. This breakfast has a good price but that’s about the only good feature. Everything was average except the sausage which was below average. If you are desperate for an English breakfast
it may be for you, but I don’t think it’s worth getting
out of bed for. I rate it as poor value for money. Normally after having done my review and filming I speak to the manager or waitress to introduce myself … and to leave a card so they know that I’ve
done a review. On this occasion, I didn’t bother with that. I understand they may have had negative experiences
with people filming before but the hostility I was … shown was over the top and very unusual for
Thailand. I hope this review may be useful to you. If you want to see
more upcoming reviews of food in Bangkok then please … subscribe to stay updated. Thank you.


  1. I'm going to Bangkok next Sunday for a week before heading for Isaan. At first I was very happy to see a review of a breakfast place next to a BTS station i use very often when in Bangkok, since I stay in that area. And I have also been walking pass this pub tens of times over the last 5 years, but never been inside there. But thanks for the warning. It is nice to know which place to avoid also.There are some much better Thai and international restaurants further up and down Sukhumvit street on the same side of the street.

  2. As a Yank who has an addiction to English Breakfasts, I find your dislike for baked beans with an English Breakfast, a bit discomforting. You have mentioned this before.  If I were to review your video I would only give you a 2 out of 5 British phone box rating for that alone. After what you experienced, I thought a 2 Tuk-Tuk  review was more than they deserved. I find your videos are not only informative but very entertaining. Please keep up the great work. P.S. the only bad memory of Bangkok that I have is the breakfast hotdogs at the hotel buffet. Boy, did you get that right.

  3. Wow!  That is quite the experience —sorry to hear what you had to go through it.  As a viewer it made the video quite intriguing though.  I'm sure at that cheap price they could have had a really good value rating were it not for their attitude…

  4. That sausage looked processed. I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I always ask if okay to film in the restaurant to avoid a experience like you did. Advance congrats for 900 subscribers. Great work as always 👍🏻

  5. My god I was going to look for this place but now no way ,that is terrible to stand outside next to you is very poor ,the sausage looks like rubber ,mate that is so rude of the staff thanks for your honest review maybe if there food was better the reviws would be good

  6. I always go to Witch Pie Factory for my English breakfast when in BKK.. it's the best value for money I've found. I also like Queen Vic breakfast but it's way too expensive.
    You will always get best value for money in Pattaya though.

  7. I have seen this place before n I was thinking of stopping …..I'm not going to now.. Great video….coming to BKK in Aug 2017 for 6 months….

  8. I find that a place which has no manger present or has a weak manager, seems to be a sort of place that staff do whatever they like.
    Often Thai staff are not very professional in doing business.
    They express their personal feeling too readily, sometimes because of their customers and sometimes because of their attitude or their own problems.
    That is why you'll see all expensive places in Thailand have a supervisor to watch over them.
    Nevertheless it is not something staff with good professionalism would do. (For this I find Cambodians are much nicer than Thais.)
    Their behaviour is also the reason why most of these shops are not busy and go out of business quickly.
    I would have just left before the food arrived, after having told her she is rude.
    Our group certainly won't be going there.

  9. I'm the manager of the Robin Hood Pub – take this video down now and remove ALL comments, or face my wrath! >>:(

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.